Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada
Directory   Search  

For Your Information

The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada is Canada’s largest Lutheran denomination with 182,077 baptized members in 624 congregations. It is a member of the Lutheran World Federation, the Canadian Council of Churches, and the World Council of Churches.

Material provided through ELCIC Information is intended for reproduction and redistribution by recipients in whatever manner they may find useful.

From National Office of the ELCIC


Winnipeg (July 10, 2006) -- Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (ELCIC) delegates of the Eastern Synod Assembly 2006 and the 2006 Saskatchewan Synod Convention re-affirmed their faith in their current Bishops as they re-elected the incumbent Bishops at their July gatherings.

On the second ballot for Bishop, delegates of the Eastern Synod Assembly re-elected Bishop Michael Pryse for a third term as Synod Bishop. The announcement of the re-election came on July 6, the second day of the assembly, which was taking place at Wilfred Laurier University in Waterloo, Ontario.

In his acceptance of the call to Bishop for another term, Bishop Michael Pryse thanked the members of the Eastern Synod, council members and staff, as well as his family. "My family members are the ones who have supported me and been there during the very best days of my work," he said.

"The good days still continue to far outweigh the bad days," he continued. "I look forward to continuing to work with you for the next four years. Thank you very much." Bishop Pryse has been Bishop of the Eastern Synod for eight years.

Also on the second ballot, delegates of the 2006 Saskatchewan Synod Convention, re-elected Bishop Cindy Halmarson for a second term as Synod Bishop. Bishop Halmarson's re-election was announced on July 7, the second day of the Saskatchewan convention, which was being held in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.

Bishop Halmarson addressed the convention saying, "Along the way, I've been asked a hundred times if I enjoy the role of being Bishop. I tell them I don't always enjoy everything I have to do. But, I still feel called and supported and prepared to continue the work that lies ahead. I would be honoured to serve four more years as Bishop."

Delegates at both ELCIC gatherings greeted the announcements with a standing ovation.

Elections for Synod Bishop occur at every second Synod Convention. This year, all five synods held their biennial conventions, and all conventions held elections for Synod Bishop. With these final two gatherings, the ELCIC concludes the synod conventions and elections that needed to be held synodically this year. In three ELCIC Synods the current Bishops were re-elected, including:
- British Columbia Synod: Bishop Gerhard Preibisch
- Saskatchewan Synod: Bishop Cindy Halmarson
- Eastern Synod: Bishop Michael Pryse

In the two remaining ELCIC Synods, delegates elected new Bishops, including:
- Synod of Alberta and the Territories (ABT): Bishop-elected Ron Mayan
- Manitoba/Northwestern Ontario Synod (MNO): Bishop-elect Elaine Sauer

In both the ABT and MNO Synods, the incumbent Bishops were retiring after 12 years of service in the role of Synod Bishop.

For more information on the conventions, visit the ELCIC homepage at http://www.elcic.ca and click on the link to ELCIC Blog.

(Includes material from SASK SYNOD NEWS.)

For more information, please contact:
Ms.Trina Gallop, Manager of Communications
302 - 393 Portage Ave. Winnipeg MB R3B 3H6

In full communion with The Anglican Church of Canada
© Copyright 2007 Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada